Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join OPS
Search

Certification opened many doors for me
Thread Score:
Page 1 of 1
Thread Actions

6/27/2019 at 3:24:07 PM GMT
Certification opened many doors for me

In 1987, I had been working with Bill Nyberg for almost ten years and finally realized it was unlikely I would have a successful career as the next Ansel Adams doing fine art landscape photography (I was doing that on the side). So it was time to look at this ophthalmic thing as an actual career, become an OPS member, and get certified. I sat for the CRA exam and met a number of the bigwigs in the field who were conducting the exam at Wills in Philly: Don Wong, Csaba Martonyi, Ken Timby, Ron Harper, Earl Choromokos and Terry Tomer.  At my exit interview & portfolio review, Terry didn’t seem all that impressed with me as the kid from the competing institution across town. But I passed!

A couple years later, armed with my CRA, I landed a job at another academic institution in Philly. I was a one-man show doing all aspects of ophthalmic imaging when the OPS announced the new Certified Ophthalmic Photographer & Retinal Angiographer (COPRA) certification. It looked interesting, especially since I performed almost all of those tasks on a daily basis. I studied hard and sat for the first exam offered in 1990. The technical aspects were right in my areas of expertise, but the high level anatomy, physiology, and pathology were intense! Good thing those were the areas I concentrated my study on. There was an oral portion of the exam conducted by Terry and Earl that was intimidating. They didn’t have very good poker faces and when I knew from their expressions that I got the first answer correct, I relaxed and managed to pass that section as well.