Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join OPS






The Csaba L. Martonyi Award

Established by the OPS Board of Directors in 2008 and first awarded later the same year at the 39th Educational Program in Atlanta, the Csaba L. Martonyi Award annually recognizes the best image from the OPS Scientific Exhibit.

Csaba L. Martonyi, CRA, FOPS is Emeritus Associate Professor and Former Director of Ophthalmic Photography at the Kellogg Eye Center, University of Michigan Medical School. A longtime active member of the Ophthalmic Photographers' Society, he has served on the OPS Board of Directors, held the role of OPS Parliamentarian, was first Chair of the OPS Board of Certification, and is a Past President of the Society. He is well known for his teaching and writing, most notably for the classic text Slit Lamp Examination and Photography, now in its third edition.

This award celebrates the high standards of excellence in imaging that Csaba has exemplified throughout his career. He has always stressed that it is not sufficient for us as professional imagers to simply take the picture that will "get by", but to put our effort and skill into producing images that both serve a medical purpose and demonstrate technical and artistic perfection. He has demonstrated his ability to accomplish this through the countless awards that his photographs have won, and he encouraged other ophthalmic imagers to strive for the same level of excellence through his teachings. This goal, which Csaba has championed throughout his career, is the heartbeat of our Scientific Exhibit.

2011 Csaba L. Martonyi Award

"High Power Laser Injury"

Zlatan Sadikovic, CRA
Kresge Eye Institute
Detroit, Michigan
Print Division; First Place - Composite Image

2010 Csaba L. Martonyi Award

"Retinoblastoma Stage 5b"

Ditte Hess, CRA, FOPS
Bascom Palmer Eye Institute, University of Miami
Miami, Florida
Stereo Division; First Place - Gonio Photography


2009 Csaba L. Martonyi Award

"Dislocated IOL"

David T. Miller, CRA
Wake Forest University Eye Center
Winston-Salem, North Carolina
Print Division; First Place - Slitlamp Photography


2008 Csaba L. Martonyi Award

"Vitreous Pearls"

Robert Myles, CRA
Emory Eye Center
Atlanta, Georgia
Stereo Division; First Place - Gross Specimen Photography

Sign In

Latest News

Webinar Wednesday

8/17/2020 » 8/31/2020
OPS-ATPO Virtual Symposium